+7 (812) 577-78-12

mostotrest@rambler.ru

ru en zh

Attention!

On November 30, 2017 the navigation in Saint Petersburg was finished. According to the schedule, the bridges over the Neva River and the Malaya Neva River will not rise from November 30 to April 10, and over the Neva River arms - from November 15 to April 20. If you have any questions on the bridge opening schedule beyond the navigation period, see our mobile application and the website. The new navigation season will open on April 10, 2018.

Everything clear!

Embankment of the Spit of Vasilievsky Island

Россия, Санкт-Петербург
Embankment of the Spit of Vasilievsky Island

River Barrier: Neva River

Year of creation: 1805

Length: 548 m

The embankment is located on the eastern end of Vasilievsky Island where the Neva River is divided into the Bolshaya and Malaya Rivers. The abutments of Birzhevoy and Palace Bridges are considered to be its boundaries.

The embankment was a single structure in 1952 only. Before that it was divided into two embankments – Tuchkov Embankment (along the Malaya Neva River) and the embankment of the Bolshaya Neva River.

The bank outline and the embankment layout changed depending on the urban problems, which were imposed by the time. When Peter the Great decided to arrange the centre of the city on Vasilyevsky Island, its end was constructed by estates of dignitaries. After relocation of the Commercial port from Kronverksky flow path to the mouth of the Malaya Neva River, the construction of warehouse and commercial buildings began there: Old and New Gostinyi Dvor, Stock Exchange buildings, warehouses and the Customs.

In connection with the construction of a new building of Stock Exchange, under the project of architect Tomas de Tomon, in 1805-1810 big filling of the ground was made which resulted in the bank line extension by 120 m to the river. Along the Stock Exchange axis the large descent was built with bent ramps to the river; the ramps ended with granite balls on pedestals erected under the same project of de Tomon.

The wall of the second tier of the descent was decorated with 12 stone masks of lions with decorative bronze rings. Rostral Columns were erected in projections of high massive embankment wall to the left and to the right of the descent.

In 1925-26 a park was planted on the square in front of Stock Exchange. In 1929 a wall of the lower descent area was rearranged. During the siege years the northern wing-wall of the embankment adjoined the descent was destroyed and restored in 1950, and in two years the ramps and the lower area were paved with diabasic blocks.

In 1963 lion masks were reconstructed as per the project of special scientific and restoration workshops under the supervision of architect A. L. Rotach.

During the construction of permanent Palace Bridge the descents with side stairs were erected at its right-bank abutment, on the upstream and downstream sides, and, additionally, on the upstream side the high massive granite wall was built which reached the existing wall bend angle at the nearest Rostral Column. During the construction of Birzhevoy Bridge the adjacent upstream wall elongated and became bent similar to the wall at Palace Bridge.

Thus, the formation of the embankment of the Spit of Valilyevsky Island was finished. From the side of the Neva River there was the bent descent, which was used as a base of Stock Exchange removing its outline from the water surface, and as if the huge granite balls were floating by themselves along the river during floods of the Neva River.

The Spit of the Vasilyevsky Island is one of the most popular places for newly wedded couples. And the Stock Exchange building has become very popular among young people keen on skateboarding.

+7 (812) 577-78-43

mostotrest@rambler.ru

ru en zh
Версия для слабовидящих
Размер шрифта:
AAA
Цвет сайта:
AA
Вернуться к обычной версии сайта >

Внимание!

В ночь с 25.09.2017 на 26.09.2017 мосты по Неве, Большой и Малой Неве разводятся.

Все понятно!

Набережная Стрелки Васильевского острова

Россия, Санкт-Петербург
Набережная Стрелки Васильевского острова

Водная преграда: р. Нева

Год создания: 1805

Протяженность: 548 м

Набережная Стрелки Васильевского острова на карте

Набережная находится на восточной оконечности Васильевского острова в месте разделения реки Невы на Большую и Малую. Ее границами считаются устои Биржевого и Дворцового мостов.

В отдельное сооружение набережная выделилась только в 1952 году. До этого по оси Биржевого спуска было разделение на две набережные – Тучкову (вдоль Малой Невы) и набережную Большой Невы.

Очертание береговой линии и планировка набережной менялись в зависимости от градостроительных задач, которые диктовало время. Когда Пётр I решил организовать центр города на Васильевском острове, его оконечность застраивалась усадьбами сановников. После переезда торгового порта с Кронверкской протоки в устье реки Малой Невы здесь начинается строительство складских и торговых зданий: Старого и Нового Гостиных дворов, здания Биржи, Пакгаузы, Таможня.

В связи со строительством нового здания Биржи по проекту архитектора Тома де Томона в 1805-1810 годах была произведена большая подсыпка грунта, вследствие чего линия берега выдвинулась на 120 метров в реку. По оси Биржи построен большой спуск с криволинейными пандусами к реке, завершавшимися также по проекту де Томона огромными гранитными шарами на постаментах.

Стенка второго яруса спуска оформлена 12-ю каменными масками  львов с декоративными бронзовыми кольцами. В выступах высокой массивной стенки набережной слева и справа от спуска были возведены  Ростральные колонны.

В 1925-26 годах на площади перед Биржей был разбит сквер. В 1929 году перекладывается стенка нижней площадки спуска. В годы блокады северное крыло набережной, примыкающее к спуску, было разрушено и восстановлено в 1950 году, а через два года пандусы и нижняя площадка замощены диабазовой шашкой.

В 1963 году реставрируются львиные маски по проекту Специальных Научно-реставрационных мастерских под руководством архитектора А.Л. Ротач.

При строительстве постоянного Дворцового моста у его правобережного устоя были возведены с верховой и низовой стороны спуски с боковыми лестницами и, кроме того, с верховой стороны была построена высокая массивная гранитная стенка, дошедшая до угла перегиба существовавшей стенки у ближайшей Ростральной колонны. При строительстве Биржевого моста примыкающая верховая стенка удлинилась и получила криволинейное очертание, аналогично стенке у Дворцового моста.

Таким образом завершилась формирование набережной Стрелки  Васильевского Острова. Со стороны Невы криволинейный спуск служит как бы основанием здания Биржи, отрывая его силуэт от водной глади, а громадные  гранитные шары при многочисленных подъёмах воды в Неве как будто самостоятельно плывут по реке.

Стрелка Васильевского острова – одно из самых популярных мест среди молодоженов. А здание Биржи стало очень популярным у молодежи, увлекающейся скейтбордом.