+7 (812) 577-78-12


ru en zh


On November 30, 2017 the navigation in Saint Petersburg was finished. According to the schedule, the bridges over the Neva River and the Malaya Neva River will not rise from November 30 to April 10, and over the Neva River arms - from November 15 to April 20. If you have any questions on the bridge opening schedule beyond the navigation period, see our mobile application and the website. The new navigation season will open on April 10, 2018.

Everything clear!

Stone Bridge

Russia, Saint Petersburg
Stone Bridge

Category: Road Bridges

Overall length: 19 m

River Barrier: Griboyedov Canal

Architect: V. Nazimov

Opened in: 1752

Purpose: Road Bridges, Pedestrian Bridges

Bridge width: 13,88 m

Stone Bridge connects Kazansky Island and Spassky Island over the Griboyedov Canal. The bridge marks the border between Admiralty District and Central District of St. Petersburg.

The bridge is one of the few oldest constructions of such type in St. Petersburg which have not been radically reconstructed. Due to this, the design of Stone Bridge includes a characteristic design feature of bridge building of the XVIII century - a fairly steep curve of the structure, often found in the arched stone structures of the time.

In 1739 there was a wooden pile crossing named the Middle bridge (after the street name).

Permanent stone bridge designed by the engineer V.Nazimov has been built from 1767, and its construction was completed in 1776. This is a single-span arched bridge. The superstructure is a solid vault of parabolic shape; facades are faced with granite.

Pedestrian railing installed on the bridge refers to the railing type of Griboyedov Canal embankment: cast iron balusters with a metal handrail and granite bollards. Arches, like soaring over the canal, are faithful reproduction of the embankment railing, simple in design and do not change the fundamentals of the architectural character. This architectural concept further emphasizes pre-existing four semicircular stair descents on the sidewalk of the embankment. In the last quarter of the ХIХ century descents were dismantled and steepness of entrances to the bridge was reduced.

There is an asphalt-concrete pavement on the bridge. The sidewalk is separated from the roadway with granite curb.

Despite the fact that in St. Petersburg there are several stone bridges to this day, the only bridge across the Griboyedov Canal is named Stone Bridge. Perhaps, it comes from the fact that this construction became the first stone bridge in the city and until the time only wooden bridges were built. Maybe the bridge got its eloquent name because its shape particularly convincing disclosed individual beauty of masonry.

In 1988 high granite curb was installed on the bridge.

Stone bridge guarded today by the state as a valuable monument of architecture of XVIII century could not survive to the present time. In 1880 it nearly fell victim to a conspiracy of the Revolutionary Society "Narodnaya Volya", when during the preparation of the attempt on the life of Emperor Alexander II, dynamite was laid under Stone Bridge. It had to blow up at the moment when sovereign carriage will cross the bridge. Fortunately, the bridge was not destroyed, as members of “Narodnaya Volya” were not sure that the explosives laid enough for its deadly collapse. However, the Tsar was killed on the embankment of the same canal, and the bridge still exists. A bomb planted under the bridge was 7 pounds of dynamite in four gutta-percha pillows. It was found at the bottom of the channel in the spring of 1881, during the investigation of the "Case of the sixteen" when Alexander II was already dead.

Another interesting fact from the history of Stone Bridge was the fact that at the beginning of the XX century, when the first buses appeared in St. Petersburg, the bridge entrances were a difficult obstacle for these vehicles because they were too steep. It came even to the point that in the rush hour conductors had to ask the passengers to get out and cross the bridge on foot. Only then unloaded vehicle could climb the difficult gradient. On the bridge, passengers again took their places, and the bus continued its way along Gorokhovaya Street moving down the slope.

+7 (812) 577-78-43

mostotrest@rambler.ru

ru en zh
Версия для слабовидящих
Размер шрифта:
AAA
Цвет сайта:
AA
Вернуться к обычной версии сайта >

Внимание!

 В ночь с 18.08.2017 на 19.08.2017 мосты по Неве, Большой  и Малой Неве разводятся.

Все понятно!

Каменный мост

Россия, Санкт-Петербург
Каменный мост

Ширина моста: 15,08 м

Водная преграда: Канал Грибоедова

Общая длина: 19,7 м

Год открытия: 1752 (деревянный), 1776

Архитекторы: В. Назимов

Каменный мост на карте

Каменный мост соединяет Казанский и Спасский острова через канал Грибоедова. Через него проходит граница между Адмиралтейским и Центральным районами Санкт-Петербурга.

Мост является одним из немногих подобных старейших строений в Санкт-Петербурге, которые не подверглись кардинальной реконструкции. Благодаря этому, в конструкции Каменного моста можно увидеть сохранившуюся характерную технологическую особенность мостостроения XVIII века – довольно крутой изгиб строения, часто встречающийся в арочных каменных сооружениях того времени.

Здесь с 1752 года существовала деревянная свайная переправа, именовавшаяся Средним мостом (по названию улицы).

Постоянный мост из камня по проекту инженера В.Назимова строился с 1767 года и был построен в 1776 году. Мост однопролетный, арочный. Пролетное строение представляет собой сплошной свод параболического очертания, облицованный с фасадов гранитом.

На мосту установлено перильное ограждение типа набережной канала Грибоедова: чугунные балясины с металлическим поручнем и гранитными тумбами. Арки, будто взлетевшие над каналом, являются точной копией перил набережной, просты в исполнении и не изменяют основы архитектурного образа. Эта архитектурная идея еще больше подчеркивалась существовавшими ранее четырьмя полукруглыми лестничными спусками на тротуар набережной. В последней четверти ХIХ века спуски ликвидировали и уменьшили крутизну въездов на мост.

Покрытие на мосту асфальтобетонное. Тротуар отделен от проезжей части гранитным поребриком.

Несмотря на то, что в Петербурге и по сей день насчитывается несколько каменных мостов, только этот мост через канал Грибоедова стал называться Каменным. Возможно, именно это сооружение стало первым каменным мостом в городе, где до того момента возводились лишь деревянные мосты. А может быть, мост получил свое красноречивое название потому, что в его облике особенно убедительно раскрыта своеобразная красота каменной кладки.

В 1988 году на мосту установили повышенный гранитный поребрик.

Каменный мост, охраняемый сегодня государством как ценный памятник архитектуры XVIII века, мог бы и не сохраниться до настоящего времени. Он чуть не пал жертвой заговора революционеров из общества «Народная воля» в 1880 году, когда при подготовке покушения на жизнь императора Александра II под Каменный мост был заложен динамит. Он должен был взорваться в момент проезда по нему экипажа государя. К счастью, мост не был разрушен. В 1881 году царь был убит на набережной того же канала, а мост и поныне существует. Заложенная под ним бомба, представлявшая собой 7 пудов динамита в четырех гуттаперчевых подушках, была обнаружена на дне канала весной 1881 года, во время следствия по «делу шестнадцати», когда Александр II был уже мертв.

Другим интересным фактом из истории Каменного моста стало то, что в начале XX века, когда в Санкт-Петербурге появились первые автобусы, въезды на мост оказались сложным препятствием для этих машин, поскольку были довольно крутыми. Дело доходило даже до того, что в час-пик кондукторам приходилось просить пассажиров выйти и пройти мост пешком. Только после этого разгруженная машина могла преодолеть трудный подъем. На мосту высаженные пассажиры вновь занимали свои места, и автобус следовал дальше по Гороховой улице, катясь под уклон.