+7 (812) 577-78-12

mostotrest@rambler.ru

ru en zh

Attention!

Navigation on the Neva and Malaya Neva rivers is open from April 10 to November 30, 2018 and on the rivers and canals – from April 20 to November 15, 2018. Follow the news on our site!

Everything clear!

English Embankment

Россия, Санкт-Петербург
English Embankment

River Barrier: The Bolshaya Neva River

Length: 1306 m

Architect: I. L. Rossi, Yu. M. Felten

Year of creation: 1730

Purpose: Road Bridges, Pedestrian Bridges

English Embankment is located on the left bank of the Bolshaya Neva River. It expands from Senate Square to the Novo-Admiralty Canal. It is included in a number of central front left-bank embankments along the Neva River.

The first wooden bank reinforcements of English Embankment appeared in 1730.

In 1762 construction of embankments in Petersburg started from the arrangement of stone berth not far from the Winter Palace. The walls were constructed under the project of architects I. L. Rossi and Yu. M. Felten.

The stone embankment was constructed to the Galernya yard by 1778 passing the territory of Admiralty Shipyards. When constructing, the embankment wall was moved from the building line towards the river by soil backfilling. The wall base is reinforced by driving wooden piles over the areas in the staggered order. Then a stone wall with massive lining of granite blocks is erected. A granite cornice passes onto top with a solid granite parapet. Semi-round descents to the water with very complex granite facing gradually cut the embankment wall facade. This wall remained in such a state for 200 years.

 From 1738 the embankment was named Beregovaya Nizhnyaya, then Galernaya and at the end of the XVIII century – English Embankment as Englishmen were settled there. Later there was English Embassy and English church there.

Since 1919 it was renamed as Krasny Flot Embankment after the seamen-revolutionaries landed here to take part in the attack on the Winter Palace. At the same time, opposite building No. 44, below Blagoveschensky Bridge, there was cruiser Aurora which made the historical shot to the Winter Palace. The place is memorized with the stele with the inscription about this event. In 1994, shortly before the Queen Elizabeth II of Great Britain arrived in St. Petersburg, the embankment was renamed as English Embankment again.

A lot of historical events have happened on the embankment for over 200 years.

In 1727 the first Isaakievsky Pontoon Bridge across the Neva River connected the Admiralty Island with the Vasilyevsky Island. Since1782 the embankment is decorated with the Bronze Horseman monument. In 1820-1824, after outer canals backfilling, Palace berth and Petrovsky descent were constructed around the Admiralty. In 1850 the first permanent cast iron bridge (Blagoveschensky Bridge) across the Neva River was opened.

In 1954-1956 the major repair of fairly large section of the embankment was repaired: piled foundation was reinforced, as well as two river rows of wooden piles were driven, and a reinforced concrete layer was arranged under them, a rubble work was partially disassembled and granite facing was assembled.

On English Embankment there is the oldest section of the 130 m long wall constructed in 1784 and embankment sections adjoining the abutments of Blagoveschensky Bridge from the upstream and downstream sides, which probably remained from the time of the first cast iron bridge construction in 1850.

+7 (812) 577-78-43

mostotrest@rambler.ru

ru en zh
Версия для слабовидящих
Размер шрифта:
AAA
Цвет сайта:
AA
Вернуться к обычной версии сайта >

Внимание!

В ночь с 17.10.2017 на 18.10.2017 мосты по Неве, Большой и Малой Неве разводятся.

Все понятно!

Английская набережная

Россия, Санкт-Петербург
Английская набережная

Водная преграда: р. Большая Нева

Год создания: 1730

Назначение: Автомобильные, Пешеходные

Инженеры: И.Л. Росси, Ю.М. Фельтен

Протяженность: 1306 м

Английская набережная на карте

Английская набережная расположена на левом берегу Большой Невы. Протянулась от Сенатской площади до Ново-Адмиралтейского канала. Входит в число «парадных» центральных левобережных невских набережных.

Первые деревянные береговые укрепления Английской набережной появились уже в 1730 году.

В 1762 году строительство каменной набережных в Петербурге началось с устройства каменной пристани недалеко от Зимнего дворца. Стенки строились по проекту архитекторов И.Л. Росси и Ю.М. Фельтена.

К 1778 году каменную набережную построили до Галерного двора, пропустив территорию Адмиралтейской верфи. При строительстве стенка набережной отодвигалась от линии застройки в сторону реки подсыпкой грунта. Основание стенки укреплялось забивкой деревянных свай по площадям в шахматном порядке. Затем возводилась бутовая стенка с массивной облицовкой из гранитных блоков. Поверху шел гранитный карниз с гранитным сплошным парапетом. Фасад стенки набережной ритмично прорезали полукруглые спуски к воде с очень сложной гранитной облицовкой. Стенка в таком виде простояла 200 лет.

 С 1738 года набережная именовалась Береговой Нижней, затем Галерной, а в конце XVIII века – Английской, так как здесь селились, в основном, английские подданные. Позже здесь же находились Английское посольство и английская церковь.

С 1919 года ее переименовали в набережную Красного Флота в честь моряков-революционеров, высадившихся здесь, чтобы принять участие в штурме Зимнего. Тогда же, напротив дома № 44, ниже Благовещенского моста, стоял крейсер «Аврора», сделавший отсюда свой исторический выстрел по Зимнему дворцу. Место увековечено стелой с надписью об этом событии. В 1994 году, незадолго до приезда в Санкт-Петербург британской королевы Елизаветы II, набережной было возвращено название Английской.

За 200 с лишним лет на набережной происходили многие исторические события.

В 1727 году первый наплавной Исаакиевский мост через Неву соединил Адмиралтейский остров с Васильевским. С 1782 года набережную украшает памятник «Медный всадник». В 1820-1824 годах, после засыпки наружных каналов вокруг Адмиралтейства, были сооружены Дворцовая пристань и Петровский спуск. В 1850 году состоялось открытие первого постоянного чугунного моста через Неву – Благовещенского.

В 1954-1956 годах выполнялся капитальный ремонт довольно большого участка набережной: было усилено свайное основание, в том числе забиты два речных ряда деревянных свай и устроена железобетонная подушка над ними, частично разбиралась бутовая кладка и перекладывалась гранитная облицовка.

На Английской набережной сохранился самый старый участок стенки длиной 130 м, сооруженный в 1784 году, и участки набережной, примыкающие с верховой и низовой стороны к устою Благовещенского моста, видимо, со времен постройки первого чугунного моста в 1850 году.